SECTION .0200 - COMMISSIONING

12 NCAC 02J .0201 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CAMPUS POLICE OFFICERS

Every campus police officer must meet the following requirements to obtain and maintain a campus police commission:

- (1) be a citizen of the United States;
- (2) be a high school graduate or have passed the General Educational Development Test indicating high school equivalency. A specific exception to this educational requirement is granted to:
 - (a) an applicant who was the holder of a valid campus police commission on June 30, 1972; or
 - (b) an applicant properly certified as a law enforcement officer by the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission on March 14, 1973.

In either case, the exception will not be applicable if the applicant has had more than a 12 month break in service;

(3) have attained a score of not less than 80 percent on a written examination of basic knowledge of laws of arrest, search, and investigation, and of these Rules to be administered by a representative of the North Carolina Department of Justice;

Note: All examination questions will be based on the book Arrest, Search, and Investigation as published by and available from the Institute of Government, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27514, and these Rules.

Applicants will be advised in writing of test dates and sites at least five days prior to the examination. In the event an applicant fails to successfully complete the examination, only one re-test will be allowed. Upon an applicant's failure to successfully complete the second test, the applicant must successfully complete accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training coursework prior to re-testing;

- (4) meet the minimum standards for criminal justice officers established by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, appearing in Title 12, Chapter 9 of the North Carolina Administrative Code; which Standards are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall automatically include any later amendments and editions of the referenced material;
- (5) applicants who do not hold general certification as a law enforcement officer issued by the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission or the North Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training Standards Commission, must submit to and successfully complete a polygraph examination administered by the State Bureau of Investigation;
- (6) be at least 20 years of age;
- (7) have produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following specifications:
 - (a) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive test result using a gas chromatography mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other reliable initial and confirmatory tests as may, from time to time, be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs;
 - (b) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual discarding of the specimen;
 - (c) the drugs whose use shall be tested for shall include at least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP), opiates and amphetamines or their metabolites;
 - (d) the test threshold values established by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall automatically include any later amendments and editions of the referenced material. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:

Campus Police Program
North Carolina Department of Justice
114 West Edenton Street
Old Education Building
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
rge from the office of the agency:

and may be obtained at no charge from the office of the agency:

Campus Police Program
North Carolina Department of Justice
Post Office Box 310
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

- (e) the test conducted shall be not more than 60 days old, calculated from the time when the laboratory reports the results to the date of employment;
- (f) the laboratory conducting the test must be certified for federal workplace drug testing programs, and must adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations and guidelines pertaining to the handling, testing, storage and preservation of samples, except that individual agencies may specify other drugs to be tested for in addition to those drugs set out in Item (7)(c) of this Rule; and
- (g) every agency head shall be responsible for making adequate arrangements for the services of a Medical Review officer (MRO) for the purpose of review of drug tests reported by the laboratory and such officer shall be a licensed physician;
- (8)notify the Campus Police Administrator in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer is arrested, pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or is found guilty of. This shall include all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses and shall specifically include any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for purposes of this Item, as an offense where the maximum punishment allowable is 60 days or less. The notifications required must specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was handled and the date of the conviction if applicable. The notifications must be received by the Campus Police Administrator within 30 days of the date of the case disposition. Applicants and officers required to notify the Campus Police Administrator under this Item shall also make the same notification to their Department Head within 20 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. However, the notification to the Campus Police Administrator does not excuse the officer from making an independent notification otherwise required by either the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission or the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission. The notifications required by this section shall be required while the application is pending as well as subsequent to a commission being issued; (9) be of good moral character as referred to in G.S. 17C-10(c); and
- not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 2J .0209(b), such (10)that the applicant would be ineligible for commissioning as a Campus Police officer.

History Note: Authority G.S. 74G-4;

Eff. April 1, 2006;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 2016.